Topic Options
#3745 - 08/18/20 01:47 PM Need Help Getting ATT to see there is a problem with their service
Cebic Technologi Offline

Hi, I am a novice PingPlotter User, but I think I know enough to interpret the results I have attached that ATT ISP service is the problem. I have attached a couple of screen shots and the PP2 files. I have been testing to google.com and my firewall gateway IP.

I would like to use the group's expertise to help me better understand the results so I can share that information with ATT Tech Support. Can you reply with details that I can use, please?

Thanks in advance and feel free to ask for more details.

Attachments
S37FWGateway.pp2 (326 downloads)
S37Google.pp2 (324 downloads)
TOKS37PingplotterFWGateway.png (69 downloads)
TOKS37PingplotterGoogle.png (71 downloads)

#3746 - 08/18/20 05:56 PM Re: Need Help Getting ATT to see there is a problem with their service [Re: Cebic Technologi]
AustinB Offline
Network Support @ Pingman Tools

Hello there,

Thanks for writing in! I'm happy to help out with your results here.

I appreciate all this data - right off the bat, it looks like your router/gateway/firewall is in the clear.

However, the PP2 file for Google is only 60 seconds (when you export data, you'll need to change the Focus period to adjust the amount of data), so it's a little difficult to say where the problem is really starting.

I'd recommend opening Timeline Graphs for hops #2 through #4 to see where the latency and/or packet loss is starting(don't worry about the packet loss at hop #1, it's dropping ICMP TTL Expired packets, which doesn't affect your connection). You're looking for a pattern of latency and/or packet loss similar to that found at www.google.com.

I hope that helps a bit! Feel free to upload another sample as well and I can take a look; let me know if this leaves you with any questions as well.

#3747 - 08/18/20 06:52 PM Re: Need Help Getting ATT to see there is a problem with their service [Re: AustinB]