Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#930 - 08/29/03 05:06 AM Lost Packets
Anonymous
Unregistered

When I run PingPlotter while downloading a file the lost packet rate goes from zero to a very high rate. Is this normal or the sign of a problem.

I've been using your utility for a few years now and has helped me convince ISPs of problems. Great utility,

Thanks.....

#931 - 08/29/03 07:25 AM Re: Lost Packets
Pete Ness Offline

Loc: Boise, Idaho
That's relatively normal. Usually, when you download something you should get a big jump in latency (as your bandwidth is being saturated). Sometimes, this will be accompanied by a big jump in packet loss as well.

These symptoms are more true with lower bandwidth connections. As you increase bandwidth, you should see less latency jump and less packets lost, although it will still happen as you're saturating your bandwidth.

#932 - 08/29/03 07:50 AM Re: Lost Packets [Re: Pete Ness]
Anonymous
Unregistered

Well I'm supposed to have a fast connection, and when it's working properly it's very fast. I have recorded download speeds of >2.5Mb sustained.

The ISP had lightning problems about a month ago, had to replace equipment, and since the problems started the downloads speeds have dropped and are intermittently BELOW dialup. At best all I get now is around 1Mb.

The system we have is the enitire community is wired as a 10MB LAN that carrries data and analog TV. Our individual access is through an interface provided by the ISP that supposedly just keeps the TV stuff out of out PCs. It's not a modem.

Where I'm seeing the intermittent increase in latency is between the ISP's last machine and the first Sprint machine. There are two machines between me and Sprint. The latency between me and the ISP's two machines never increases above 3 or 4ms. I'm starting a 48 hour plot at a 2.5s interval and will post the results for you to see.