Topic Options
#3073 - 05/05/17 06:54 AM Non-profit connection issues
tlcnetwork Offline

Hello all!

I'm new to this site; and I'm not an IT engineer by trade, so I apologize in advance for any ignorance on my behalf. I'm trying to help a non-profit health organization in Africa resolve connection issues. We currently have two 3 Mbps satellites that are load balanced by a Peplink 20. When I use Ping Plotter, I can't actually see Hop 2, but it looks like that's where the issue originates.

Ultimately I'm trying to decipher if the issue is internal with our router or if the issue is with the satellite company? We have other satellite connections nearby that perform much better, but the load is also significantly less. I could easily see bandwidth saturation issues, but I'm not sure how to determine if it occurs on our end or the ISP.

Any advice or input from the attached plot would be great!! Thanks so much!

Edited by tlcnetwork (05/05/17 06:57 AM)

#3074 - 05/05/17 07:06 AM Re: Non-profit connection issues [Re: tlcnetwork]
tlcnetwork Offline

Images and files attached.

Attachments
050517_PingPlot.pp2 (536 downloads)
Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 12.42.10 PM.png (122 downloads)

#3075 - 05/05/17 03:38 PM Re: Non-profit connection issues [Re: tlcnetwork]
Gary Offline
PingPlotter Staff

Hello,

Thanks for getting in touch - sorry to hear about your connection issues!

From the screenshot and .pp2 file you provided (thanks for including those!) - it looks like there's a pattern of packet loss occurring at hop #1 that seems to be carrying through your entire route to the final destination. This would pretty strongly imply that the culprit in your issue is somewhere between the machine you've got running PingPlotter, and hop #1 (which is likely your router).