Topic Options
#3541 - 01/08/20 12:38 PM 2x Frontier ADSL Problems
snewp Offline

Loc: Wisconsin
Hi!
I've been using PingPlotter Pro off an on for a few months. Most recently (about a month now) our network monitoring tool has been alerting for down/up events on 2 connections. I have been monitoring and looking at it here and there but it is not a down link only the ability to ping and recieve replys that sometimes works and sometimes does not.

I have 4 total Frontier ADSL links to 4 different locations. I see problems with 2 of the 4. All 4 are located within Wisconsin. I'm collecting data to contact the ISP however I'd like some help analyzing the data to get a little understanding of what might be occurring.

Here are my two shares.
1) https://share.pingplotter.com/Zbn1YMrNTtZ
2) https://share.pingplotter.com/7sckucuxUjj

For both I'm curious why hop 8 shows high packet loss followed by hop 9 of the same IP with no packet loss? This is common and exists this way with one of the other Frontier DSL connections but that connection is pingable and I'm not having problem monitoring the on prem modem.

On the first share (Eden GW), I was getting to the final hop earlier this morning and then it suddenly started failing. Unfortunately, I cleared my workspace by accident so I don't have that showing.

#3542 - 01/08/20 06:58 PM Re: 2x Frontier ADSL Problems [Re: snewp]
Hayla Offline
Pingman Staff

Hey Snewp!

Thanks for getting in touch.

So, from what I can see in your traces, the biggest thing that sticks out to me is that it appears that these targets are not responding to ICMP. This is pretty common for a lot of AWS/Azure servers, and is a pretty common security measure for other devices as well. That being said, it's harder to tell what's *truly* going on with the target since we can't see it.