Topic Options
#3184 - 11/17/17 11:07 PM 50~100% Packet Loss, "symptoms" vary greatly
Zawyn Offline

I'm extremely new to using PingPlotter (though have looked through the introductory resources, and trouble-shooting tips on the site), however I'm having no luck figuring out where to start when troubleshooting my own connection.

I've had connectivity issues forever, however they've usually been very minor, though recently getting worse. While I prefer being connected to a VPN, the issues persist with & without one. I've disabled it for the purpose of this thread.

I'll hopefully have attached a few sample images below, of different patterns that I've been noticing in terms of packet-loss, they should speak for themselves. The first few attachments were done to a game-server for one of the main games that I play, though the last two are cnnecting to Google.

I understand that this is a local issue, though the varying patterns aren't helping me to understand what's going on. What should my course of action be, what's causing these (usually) consistent patterns of packet-loss? All I've really tried thus far is restarting the router/modem to no avail.

The 5th screenshot was taken not too long after the 4th, however just zoomed it out to 10 minutes. During the solid-bar of packet-loss on the 5th screenshot, I could still browse the internet as per usual, without noticing anything unusual. I believe that I use some form of a "two-in-one" router & modem. Most (if not all) of these screenshots were taken while my connection to games were showing "regular" ping. I do wish to resolve what causes my connection's haywire-like activity, but I figured I should look into the packet loss that's present even when my connection is seemingly fine, first.

I understand this is rather vague in terms of detail, and I'm happy to test more & answer questions. I just have no idea where to start. Thanks in advance!