Topic Options
#2585 - 12/11/14 10:56 PM Help!
gjj Offline

Would the results in the following image explain intermittent but daily (many times daily) internet problems on my network?
The big red packet loss section is when I disconnected an Ethernet cable.
A network support rep said he thinks the modem or ISP is the source of our issue. The jitter numbers in the summary are concerning him.

Thanks..I am new to using pingplotter and I don't troubleshoot networks as a profession. If I can supply any further info let me know.

#2586 - 12/11/14 11:01 PM Re: Help! [Re: gjj]
gjj Offline

Here is another screen shot from today from a PC wired directly to the Comcast modem:

#2587 - 12/12/14 11:51 AM Re: Help! [Re: gjj]
Gary Offline
PingPlotter Staff

Hello!

It's a bit tough to diagnose any issues based only off of just your screenshots here. I can see that a few of your targets are experiencing a bit of packet loss - but with the view we've got from the summary screen here, we can't see where that packet loss is originating from. Would you be able to attach a screenshot of the results from one of your target tabs (such as your trace to Google) so that we can get a look at your full route?

Your goal in troubleshooting this issue should be to correlate any network issues you're experiencing to any patterns you can capture in your PingPlotter results. From there, you can then begin to narrow down your culprit by eliminating any variables that you have control over. We've got some documentation that goes through the process of troubleshooting issues such as this in more detail, which you may find helpful here:

http://www.pingplotter.com/netnirvana/

Hopefully this helps get you headed in the right direction! If you have any other questions, or if you find yourself needing further guidance - feel free to send over any other screenshots or .pp2 files (in PingPlotter -> "File" -> "Save Sample Set"), and we'd be happy to take a look and offer advice from there.

Best wishes,