Topic Options
#2242 - 11/01/10 07:58 AM Voip problems
snookerguru Offline

Hello.

I just download the trial version of ping plotter and started a trace. I have very little experience in enterpeting this so i need help.

Problem:
We recently went over to use VOIP on a customer and are having most classical problem described in your http://www.pingplotter.com/manual/pro/voiptroubleshooting.html

The network:
We have a SSL-VPN connection to the VOIP server. We have 100Mbit fiber internet connection and both of us has set dedicated traffic for VOIP (10Mbit).
Now to ping plotter. I have only done the trace for about two hours but would like a opinion if it is possible. From my point of view i dont have any packet losses on end destination but there is jitter and the ms is going up and down a lot. Is that a problem? Although the ping is very good? In your view is there anything the printscreen that would suggest a problem?
Is the jitter experienced high or normal?
[img:center][/img]

Thanks in advance.

#2243 - 11/01/10 10:25 AM Re: Voip problems [Re: snookerguru]
Pete Ness Offline

Loc: Boise, Idaho
Were you having any voice issues during the time you were collecting PingPlotter data?

Based on the one minute image you shared here, I'd guess that you were not having any network-related voice issues during that minute - it looks great. The final destination has a maximum latency of 5ms and no lost packets - that's beyond ideal. Most voice protocols have an internal latency (by design!), so the latency you're seeing here is about perfect - even with a bit of jitter (which is not significant *at all* with the latency you're seeing).

The jitter you're seeing at the intermediate hops is a bit higher, but is not being represented at the final destination, so it's not an issue - even if it was high enough to be an issue, which it isn't.