Topic Options
#3859 - 07/27/21 12:09 PM Support Interpreting Data
trbbhm Offline

I am a newbie to Pingplotter and I wonder if there is a resource here to help interpret the data provided via Pingplotter. I have five locations on a big-name network and we periodically experience high latency which essentially causes my locations connections to "bounce." I'm trying to show my big-name network that there is a problem but each time they do their 20-minute intrusive test they report that everything is fine.

But our network continues to have issues each day, every day.

If you are able to help, kindly let me know what information/data I can supply. Thank you, anyone, for your help!

#3860 - 07/27/21 07:02 PM Re: Support Interpreting Data [Re: trbbhm]
Poe Offline
Pingman Tools Support

Hi trbbhm,

Thanks for posting in the forum!

Here are the guidelines that I use to diagnose networking issues with PingPlotter

Gathering data:

I suggest tracing to the following targets
1. Trace to the site or service you are having issues with (Netflix, Fortnite server, Zoom.us, etc.).
2. To your router (Usually the first hop in the route - 192.168.0.1, 10.10.0.1 or something similar).
3. To your NIC (Network Interface Card) on the machine where PingPlotter is. In Windows, run Command Line (CMD in search) as administrator and type ipconfig and look for the **IPv4 address** - this is your NIC IP. On Mac click the Apple Icon -> Preferences -> Ethernet or Wi-fi and your NIC IP address will be displayed.
4. Finally trace to a reference target (Google DNS (8.8.8.8) or Cloudflare DNS (1.1.1.1))

Interpreting the data:

1. Gather a good amount of data (24 hrs is ideal and the more intermittent the issue is the more data you need to gather)

2. Open the final hop and zoom out to the 24hr view on the trace graph

3. Look for areas where the background color of the graph is yellow or Pink and where the black latency line is high or has a lot of variation. Also, look for red packet loss bars.